What I Wish I Learned Before Getting a Job: Best Practices

Alexandria Lalli
7 min readMay 13, 2020

Disclaimer:

Despite growing concerns and a staggering number of new unemployment claims in this scary time, I somehow got my very first job right in the middle of the COVID-19 outbreak. My heart goes out to everyone getting laid off, permanently or temporarily, people looking for new employment, and everyone struggling to pay the bills. I have been there, I have struggled through that, and I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy.

I don’t want this blog post to come off as insensitive and my goal is that I hopefully empower and educate anyone coming into the software engineering space. It would be great if learning things from this blog series somehow gave you enough knowledge to impress a company and get a job!

Click here to go to the master post!

Working With Issue Tickets

If you’ve never worked with issue tickets before, it’s no big deal! We’re going to go over it together so you can get used to creating, managing, holding, and closing tickets. But first, why do we need to know how to work with issue tickets? Well, it’s simple. Issue tickets give everyone an easy way to track if and when things are resolved, but it’s not just for your company. It’s also a great way for the client to see overall progress!

--

--

Alexandria Lalli

Full-Stack Engineer, UX/UI Aficionado, and lover of coffee.